October 15, 2017

Travelers in nine states will need passports to fly effective January 22

Forbes - Nine states will no longer allow travelers to board an airplane with just their state issued driver’s licenses as of January 22, 2018. To get past TSA security checkpoints, another form of identification will be required: passport, permanent resident card/green card or a military ID.

The Real ID Act of 2005 states that state-issued IDs from these nine states do not meet the minimum security standards of the federal government:

Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Washington


greg gerritt said...

Maybe we should all give up flying and keep our carbon footprints lower

Anonymous said...

Can this actually be implemented?

Anonymous said...

Next step might be checkpoints along the Inter-state highways.